Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Celebrating Research at RCHT

In Friday 27th January, over 70 invited healthcare professionals from across the county who are either involved in, or with a keen interest in, NHS Research gathered for the first local Research Awards evening.
The aim of the event was to celebrate successes and incentivise health professionals to become the research teams of the future.

The evening consisted of inspirational talks from RCHT clinicians Dr Harry Dalton and Dr Duncan Browne about the research they have been involved in. Dr Gary Minto, Consultant Anaesthetist from Plymouth Healthcare NHS Trust gave a presentation which included an insight into how SWARM (the local anaesthetic trainee-led audit and research collaborative) has improved the effectiveness of the conduct of studies in the South West.

Representatives from the University of Plymouth, Professors Jos Latour and Bridie Kent had kindly judged the 27 nominations and supporting statements submitted by colleagues for the five categories. Kathy Byrne, RCHT Chief Executive accompanied Director of Research Dr Duncan Wheatley in presenting the awards to our nominated and winning researchers.

Best Newcomer to NHS Research in Cornwall: Elaine Buck, Radiotherapy Treatment Planner, RCHT
Also nominated:
Norma Simpson (RCHT)
Sarah Bean (RCHT)
Dr Nick Jacobson (GP)
Lt Colonel Mike Butler (RCHT)
Dr Juan Graterol (RCHT)

Best Principal Investigator Working on NHS Research in Cornwall: Dr Duncan Browne, Consultant in Diabetes & Endocrinology, RCHT
Also nominated:
Dr Yadlapalli Kumar (RCHT)
Amanda Gibbs (RCHT)
Mr Ashish Patwardhan (RCHT)
Dr Cathy Ralph (RCHT)
Mr Manish Divekar (RCHT)

Outstanding Contribution to NHS Research in Cornwall: Helen Chenoweth, Research Sister, Diabetes, Endocrinology & Renal Team, RCHT
Also nominated:
Dr Anne Prendiville (RCHT)
Medical/Surgical Research Team (RCHT)
Fiona Hammonds (RCHT)

Lifetime Achievement in NHS Research in Cornwall: Dr Harry Dalton, Consultant in Hepatology & Gastroenterology, RCHT
Also nominated:
Dr Duncan Wheatley (RCHT)

Working Together- Effective Collaboration Working on NHS Research in Cornwall
Winners: Rame GP Surgery
Also Nominated:
Oncology Research Team ,RCHT
Sinead Kerr, Primary Care Dementia Practitioner, CF
Studies Set Up Team, RD&I, RCHT
Anna Fouracres, Rheumatology Research Nurse, RCHT
Will Pynsent, RD&I Data Manager RCHT
TOFU-2 Study Research Team, RCHT
Urology Secretaries, RCHT
Eye Unit, RCHT

Added on February 1, 2017, in News - Awards and Achievements