Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Your Trust Board

The Trust Board is made up of Non-­Executive and Executive Directors who together are responsible for leading Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust. The Trust Board meets in public seven times a year and anyone is welcome to attend. The Trust Board Chairman is appointed by NHS Improvement and the Chairman works with this organisation to appoint other members of the Trust Board.

Trust Board meetings and papers

Trust Board Meeting Dates

Venues and times of Board meetings are all subject to amendment so, before attending a Board meeting, please check on the Trust’s website to ensure the date and/or venue has not changed or telephone 01872 252263.

All Trust Board meetings in Public will commence at 10.00am unless otherwise specified.


  • Thursday 9th February
  • Thursday 30th March
  • Thursday 27th April
  • Thursday 1st June
  • Thursday 27th July
  • Thursday 28th September
  • Thursday 7th December

Trust Board Members Declarations of Interest

“Trust Board Members Declarations of Interest are reported to every Trust Board meeting. A copy of the latest Declaration can be found with the Board meeting papers.
Executive members

Kathy Byrne – Chief Executive


Kathy joined RCHT in April 2016. She has a long and distinguished career as a health service Chief Executive in Australia and was formerly head of Health Support Queensland and Deputy Director General at Queensland Department of Health.

She has considerable experience of leading major healthcare organisations and transforming health and social care systems.


Malcolm Stewart – Medical Director

Malcolm has worked at RCHT since October 2016. Full profile to follow

Read More

Malcolm has worked at RCHT since October 2016. Full profile to follow

Kim O’Keeffe – Chief Nurse

Kim was appointed as Chief Nurse in May 2017 having previously been Deputy Director of Nursing.

Read More

Kim was appointed as Chief Nurse in May 2017 having previously been Deputy Director of Nursing.

Karl Simkins – Director of Finance & Performance

Karl Simkins, joined the Trust in July 2010, coming from a similar role at NHS Leicester County and Rutland – one of the largest Primary Care Trusts in the country. Karl has extensive

Read More

experience of working across acute Trust, Strategic Health Authority (SHA) and Primary Care Trust organisations, including an SHA role reviewing Trust’s readiness for Foundation status.

Ethna McCarthy – Director of Strategy and Business Development

Ethna is an experienced Director having held a range of senior posts since 1995 across all sectors of the NHS. A chartered accountant by profession,

Read More

Ethna has significant experience covering finance, business planning, strategic development, risk management, and research and development. Ethna joined the Board of RCHT in January 2012.
Catrin Asbrey

Catrin Asbrey – Director of Human Resources & Organisational Development

Catrin joined RCHT in December 2016. She have 10 years’ experience of working at a senior level across different industries including

Read More

within an international PLC successfully leading large scale, multi-site transformation programmes and developing multi discipline strategic workforce and people development plans.
Richard Best

Richard Best – Interim Chief Operating Officer

Richard joined the Trust Board as Interim Chief Operating Officer in November 2016. He has over 11 years operational experience as COO and Director of Operations

Read More

in the acute sector. He has also completed 10 months in Wales as Improvement Director working in an integrated care system. Previously Richard has 22 years of experience in manufacturing leadership and improvement, including aerospace and automotive industries.

Thom Lafferty – Director of Corporate Affairs

• Thomas joined the Trust in January 2017 having most recently been Director of Corporate and Legal Affairs at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust where he played an instrumental role in the Trust’s acquisition of West Middlesex University Hospitals NHS Trust.

Read More

Prior to that, Thomas has held similar roles at other NHS Acute Trusts and has developed an expertise with regard to legal and governance matters within healthcare.
Non-executive members

Jim McKenna – Chairman

Jim McKenna took on the role of Chairman in January 2017. He is also a local Cornwall councillor as independent member for Penzance Promenade and was formerly Chief Executive of Penwith District Council. Jim has experience of working in health and social care and his links to the local community will be valuable in the transformation of local services.


Dr Mairi McLean

Mairi has been a non-executive director since 2014. She has a background in social work, psychology and leadership and has held senior positions in local government and is a former Council Chief Executive Officer.

Read More

Mairi currently runs her own consultancy business which provides leadership and executive coaching, strategic planning and team development. She also holds a number of other local and national advisory and visiting lecturer position.

Charlotte Russell

Charlotte joined the Trust in October 2013. She was a Non-Executive Director at the South Western Ambulance Service for nine years and part
of the team that achieved NHS

Read More

Foundation Trust status in 2011. She is a company director of an organic farming business with her partner and has been involved in the strategic development of the food and farming industry in Cornwall for many years. She is currently Business Development Manager at the Eden Project and has previously worked in both print and broadcast media with a particular interest in the environment.

Paul Hobson

Paul joined the Trust Board in February 2016. Paul is the Chief Executive of the CSW Group which is owned by the local authorities in Cornwall and Devon. CSW provide a range of s

Read More

ervices and products, supporting people and businesses across the South and West. Paul has held senior director posts for over 30 years in the public and private sector having started his clinical career as a radiographer in his native Cornwall.

Sarah Pryce

Sarah is a former Head of Human Resources and Organisational Development at the Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI). She joined the Trust Board in February 2016 and is

Read More

currently a trustee at Cornwall Air Ambulance Trust and owns her own consultancy company specialising in leadership and organisational development.

John Lander

John joined the Trust Board in June 2016 bringing extensive financial leadership experience including senior corporate banking appointments at HSBC

Read More

and Board level appointments at two major motor companies. Having been Chairman of Coastline Housing Ltd. for eight years he is now a director of Cornwall Rural Housing Association Ltd. John is also Chair of the Methodist Ministers’ Housing Society and is a governor of Truro and Penwith College where he chairs the Finance and General Purposes Committee.

Margaret Schwarz

Margaret is an experienced non-executive director and joined the Trust on 1st November 2016 bringing expertise in finance and strategy.

Read More

Margaret is the Governance Lead for Cornish Mutual Assurance and a non-executive director of Cornwall Foundation Trust.

Roger Gazzard (Associate Non-Executive Director)

Roger is a born and bred Cornishman. A qualified accountant who spent thirteen years as a Director of a group of companies in the

Read More

waste management and haulage industry sectors. He has also worked in local authority finance both locally and nationally. In recent years he ran a company providing business advice to small and medium businesses. Since the beginning of 2011 he has held the position of Town Clerk to Truro City Council. Having been appointed in 2007, Roger is now in his third term of office which runs until October 2016.