Celebrating Innovation at the 2nd Annual Research Awards

On Friday, NHS staff involved in research from across Cornwall gathered to celebrate successes at the 2nd annual Research Awards.

Alongside the awards ceremony, attendees heard from three inspirational researchers: RCHT’s Dr David Hutchinson, CFT’s Dr Rohit Shankar, and Primary Care Research Lead for Cornwall, GP, Dr Paul McEleny from Rame Surgery.

The tough job of narrowing down and selecting the winners from the 40 deserving nominations across the award categories was the unenviable task of Jill Shawe and Frazer Underwood from the Clinical School.

RCHT Director for Research, Dr Duncan Wheatley said,

“Congratulations to everyone who was nominated and big thank you to all who attended the awards. This is a brilliant opportunity to celebrate the amazing and broad range of research that’s going on in Cornwall and growing year on year. It’s a really positive way to improve quality of care, enable patients to have access to the latest treatments, make Cornwall attractive to those looking to work here and to put us at the forefront of developments that will benefit patients for the future.”

Feedback from the event has again been extremely positive and the RD&I team is looking forward to an even bigger event to showcase local research and innovation next year!

The winners were:

Working Together-Effective Collaboration:

Surgical Breast Theatre Team at St Michael’s Hospital, Hayle

Researcher of the Year:

Miss Khadra Galaal, Consultant Gynae-Oncologist

Chief/Principal Investigator of the Year:

Dr Mark Jadav, Consultant Emergency Physician

Innovation Award:

Emma Lamarti, Specialist Dietitian for Acute Services in Therapies

Contributing to the Successful Set Up/Delivery of Research:

Janet Lafferty, Study Set-up Team

Research Culture:

Diabetes, Renal & Endocrine Research Team

Added on January 31, 2018, in Awards - Awards and Achievements / Research